Logo VEDECOM

European project

ESPRIT

Picto shared mobility and energy

Challenges

Car-sharing systems are enjoying strong growth and are set to become a widespread transport solution. Yet the existing systems still apply to vulnerable business models, weighed down by the cost of redistributing vehicles between stations, the cost of investing in electric car-sharing services and charges for the urban space taken up by the stations.

ESPRIT (Easily Distributed Personal Rapid Transport) is an European project that tackles this issue by putting forward an enhanced transport system based on small, stackable electric vehicles that make the most of the available infrastructure, optimising energy charging and reducing redistribution costs.

Research themes

  • Car-sharing
  • stackable electric vehicles
  • infrastructure design
  • vehicle design
  • business model
  • modelling tools
  • energy optimisation
  • last-mile solutions
  • intermodal transport
  • etc…

Project description

  • The ESPRIT consortium comprises 21 members from six European countries. The project is entirely funded by the European Commission as part of the Horizon 2020 program. The goal is to develop a pioneering car-sharing system to meet mobility requirements in urban and semi-urban areas, operating seamlessly alongside existing transport systems.
  • The system is made up of small 3-seaters electric vehicles that can be stackable electric together, then the charging points at the stations, the operating system and tools to develop a business model approach.
  • Once the system has actually been built, the project will culminate in a demonstration at three European sites—Glasgow, L’Hospitalet de Llobregat near Barcelona and Lyon. These sites may then host a full-scale trial of the ESPRIT system drawing on a demand model, an operating model and a comprehensive business case.

Future prospects

Implementation of a full-scale demonstrator.

Partners involved

Logos partenaires projet esprit

Logo VEDECOM

Projet européen

ESPRIT

Picto mobilité et énergie partagée

Enjeux

Les systèmes d’autopartage se développent de façon rapide, et ont vocation à devenir un système de transport généralisé. Toutefois, les systèmes existant reposent toujours sur ces business modèles fragiles, obérés notamment par le coût de redistribution des véhicules entre les stations, le coût d’investissement notamment dans le cadre des services d’autopartage électrique, et l’occupation de l’espace urbain par les stations.

Le projet européen ESPRIT (Easily Distributed Personal Rapid Transport) adresse cette problématique en proposant un système de transport optimisé reposant sur des petits véhicules électriques chaînables, permettant une optimisation de l’utilisation de l’infrastructure, une optimisation de la recharge en énergie et une diminution du coût de la redistribution.

Thèmes de recherche

  • Autopartage,
  • chaînage véhicules
  • design infrastructures
  • design véhicules
  • business model
  • outils de modélisation
  • optimisation énergétique
  • solutions du dernier km
  • multi modalité,

Description du projet

  • Le consortium ESPRIT est composé de 21 membres venant de 6 pays européens. Le projet est entièrement financé par la commission européenne dans le cadre du programme H2020. Il vise à développer un système d’autopartage innovant en réponse aux besoins de mobilité dans les zones urbaines et péri-urbaines en synergie avec les systèmes de transport existant.
  • Le système sera composé de petits véhicules électriques 3 places chaînables, de points de recharge standard situées dans les stations, du système d’exploitation, et des outils permettant une approche des business models.
  • Au-delà de la construction technique du système, le projet aboutira à   une démonstration sur 3 sites  européens situés à Glasgow, l’Hospitalet, et Grand Lyon. Ces sites pourront accueillir par la suite une expérimentation en grandeur réelle du système ESPRIT, sur la base d’un modèle de demande, d’un modèle d’opérations et d’un business case complet.

Perspectives

Mise en place d’un démonstrateur à l’échelle.

Partenaires associés

Logos partenaires projet esprit