“Modelling patterns of individual mobility”: Mehdi Katranji defends his thesis

VEDECOM is pleased to announce that Mehdi Katranji will be defending his computing thesis entitled Deep learning in individual mobility”.

His thesis defence will take place on 16 December 2019 at the mobiLAB.

JURY

Mr Alexandre Caminada, Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, Thesis Supervisor

Mrs Latifa Oukhellou, IFSTTAR, Referee

Mr Marc Barthelemy, CEA, Referee

Mr Fouad Hadj Selem, VEDECOM, Thesis Co-Supervisor

Mr Laurent Moalic, UHA, Thesis Co-Supervisor

Mr Frédéric Precioso, Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, Examiner

ABSTRACT

Understanding mobility is a major issue for the authorities responsible for organising mobility and urban planning. Our thesis focuses on “individual mobility” – a term we employ in the absence of any formal definition of human mobility. In our introduction, we outline the applications used to enhance our understanding of human mobility, alongside the relevant stakeholders.

This will be followed by an account on the state of the art relating to different transport models. Transport studies are not in a readily usable format for mobility stakeholders seeking to implement mobility solutions or policies. Transport models convert the initial data to deliver information in a usable and workable format. This is then used to determine the prerequisites for creating a learning model: understanding of available dataset typologies, strengths and weaknesses. We will also give an overview of the four-step transport model, in use since 1970, before discussing how methodologies have developed over recent years.

We will then present our own models for individual mobility. These automatic learning models allow us to gain a clearer, more comprehensive overview of individual mobility, without further investigation. The commonality between these different models is that they focus on the individual, in contrast to traditional methods based on locality. We build on the principle that individual people make decisions based on their perception of the local environment.

The final chapter of our paper, our main theoretical contribution, seeks to improve the robustness and performance of these models. In doing so, we study the deep learning methodologies of restricted Boltzmann machines. Following an account on the state of the art relating to this family of models, we explore strategies for their viability in the applications environment.

 

Articles récents :

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

« Modélisation de la mobilité des personnes » : soutenance de thèse de Mehdi Katranji

VEDECOM a le plaisir de vous annoncer la soutenance de thèse en informatique de Mehdi Katranji, intitulée « Apprentissage profond de la mobilité des personnes ».

La soutenance aura lieu le 16 décembre 2019, au mobiLAB.

JURY

Alexandre CAMINADA, Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis, Directeur de thèse

Mme Latifa OUKHELLOU, IFSTTAR, Rapporteur

Marc BARTHELEMY, CEA, Rapporteur

Fouad HADJ SELEM, VEDECOM, Co-directeur de thèse

Laurent MOALIC, UHA, Co-directeur de thèse

Frédéric PRECIOSO, Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis, Examinateur

RESUME

La connaissance de la mobilité est un enjeu majeur pour les autorités organisatrices de la mobilité et de l’aménagement urbain. Notre thèse s’intéresse à la « mobilité des personnes », expression utilisée en l’absence du manque de définition formelle de la mobilité humaine. Elle sera introduite par une description des applications de la connaissance de la mobilité humaine, ainsi que de ses acteurs.

S’ensuivra un état de l’art sur les différents modèles de transport. Les études de transport ne sont en effet pas utilisables en l’état par les acteurs des mobilités qui souhaitent mettre en œuvre des politiques ou des solutions de mobilité. Les modèles de transport transforment la donnée initiale pour qu’elle délivre une information utile et exploitable. Seront ainsi envisagés les pré-requis à la création d’un modèle d’apprentissage : compréhension des typologies des ensembles de données disponibles, forces et faiblesses. Nous présenterons également le modèle de transport à quatre étapes, utilisé depuis 1970, avant de finir sur le renouvellement des méthodologies ces dernières années.

Nous présenterons ensuite nos propres modélisations de la mobilité des personnes. Ces modèles d’apprentissage automatique permettent d’obtenir une vision globale et plus précise de la mobilité des personnes, sans enquêtes supplémentaires. Le point commun de ces différents modèles est la mise en avant de l’individu, contrairement aux approches classiques qui privilégient la localité. Nous nous appuyons sur le principe que la prise de décision des individus se fait selon leur perception de l’environnement.

Le dernier chapitre de notre ouvrage, qui est notre contribution théorique principale, cherche à améliorer la robustesse et la performance de ces modèles. Pour ce faire, nous étudions les méthodologies d’apprentissage profond des machines de Boltzmann restreintes. Après un état de l’art de cette famille de modèles, nous recherchons ainsi des stratégies pour rendre ces modèles viables dans le monde applicatif.

Articles récents :