Logo VEDECOM

European project

Logo OPTICITIES
Picto shared mobility and energy

Challenges

OPTICITIES is a European project that brings together a number of cities (Birmingham, Gothenburg, Lyon, Madrid, Turin and Wroclaw), research institutes and private partners in order to put forward new interoperable, multimodal transport services.

Its aim is to optimise the regulation of urban traffic, to coordinate different modes of transport and, finally, to provide a high standard of information for all modes of transport in real time.

Research themes

VEDECOM has contributed to the OPTICITIES project in a number of ways:

  • Recommendations on the integration of multimodal transport data from major cities and proposal of an ISO standard
  • Study and prototyping of smartphone/vehicle interconnection to ensure the continuity of multimodal mobility (prototype, tests and usage studies)
  • Studies on the acceptability of multimodal mobility services

Project description

VEDECOM has put forward recommendations that aim to facilitate the interconnection of transport data (GDF and Transmodel) used by the ITS (Intelligent Transport Systems) platforms in major cities. This recommendation took the form of a proposal that was submitted to ISO and should be published in 2016.

Together with its car maker partners, VEDECOM is working on specifying methods for the integration of these dynamic multimodal mobility and car-pooling services within the on-board navigation systems of vehicles. The smartphone is the tool of choice for multimodal navigation; however, continuity of use throughout a multimodal journey, including in a passenger car, means that these services need to be integrated into the car’s on-board navigation system, taking ergonomics and safety constraints into account.

Thanks to its network of academic and industrial partners, VEDECOM has been able to provide OPTICITIES with its expertise in analysing usage and acceptability of multimodal navigation and dynamic carpooling among drivers. The test campaign implemented by VEDECOM among a group of users in Lyon has led to recommendations on the integration of these services into future vehicles.

Future prospects

The key players in the transfer of results from OPTICITIES in terms of smartphone/vehicle interfacing for multimodal navigation will be the cities themselves. The integration of new mobility and car-pooling services within vehicles will depend on their adoption of a common standard.

VEDECOM would therefore like to pursue the OPTICITIES initiative via a European consortium bringing together a number of car makers to specify a standard for submission to the European Commission so that it can be established as a recommendation. Such a project would encourage the development of short-distance car-pooling services and cars to be fully integrated in a global mobility offering.

Partners involved

Logos partenaires projet OPTICITIES

Logo VEDECOM

Projet européen

Logo OPTICITIES
Picto mobilité et énergie partagées

Enjeux

OPTICITIES est un projet Européen réunissant des agglomérations urbaines (Birmingham, Gothenburg, Lyon, Madrid, Turin et Wroclaw), des institutions de recherche et des partenaires privés dans le but de proposer de nouveaux services de transport multimodaux inter-opérables.

Il a pour objectifs d’optimiser la régulation du trafic urbain, de coordonner les différents modes de transport et fournir une information, de haut niveau en temps réel, pour tous les modes de transport.

Thèmes de recherche

VEDECOM a contribué au projet OPTICITIES sous plusieurs formes :

  • Des recommandations pour l’intégration de données multimodales des grandes villes et proposition de standards ISO
  • L’étude et le prototypage de l’interconnexion smartphone/véhicules pour une continuité de mobilité multimodale (prototype tests et études d’usage)

Des études sur l’acceptabilité des services de mobilité multimodale en conduite

Description du projet

VEDECOM a proposé des recommandations visant à faciliter l’interconnexion des données de transport (GDF et Transmodel) utilisées par les plateformes ITS (Intelligent Transport Systems) des grandes agglomérations urbaines. Cette recommandation a pris la forme d’une proposition présentée à l’ISO, qui devrait être publiée courant 2016.

Avec ses partenaires constructeurs, VEDECOM a proposé une spécification des modalités d’intégration de services de mobilité multimodale et de covoiturage dynamique au sein des systèmes de navigation embarqués dans les véhicules. Si le smartphone est l’outil de prédilection pour la navigation multimodale, la continuité d’usage d’un bout à l’autre du déplacement multimodal, y compris en voiture, nécessite une intégration dans le système de navigation embarquée, répondant aux contraintes d’ergonomie et de sécurité propres à la conduite.

Grâce à son réseau de partenaires académiques et industriels, VEDECOM a pu apporter à OPTICITIES son expertise en matière d’analyse des usages et de l’acceptabilité en conduite de la navigation multimodale et du covoiturage dynamique. La campagne de tests mise en œuvre par VEDECOM sur Lyon auprès d’un panel d’usagers a permis de spécifier un ensemble de recommandations pour l’intégration de ces services dans les futurs véhicules.

Perspectives

Les acteurs clés pour le transfert des résultats d’OPTICITIES en matière d’interfaçage smartphone/véhicule pour la navigation multimodale seront les villes. De leur adoption d’un standard commun dépendra l’intégration des services de nouvelle mobilité et de covoiturage au sein des véhicules.

VEDECOM souhaite donc continuer l’action d’OPTICITIES au travers d’un consortium européen regroupant plusieurs constructeurs afin de spécifier un standard qui sera  proposé à la Commission Européenne pour qu’il devienne une recommandation. Un tel projet favorisera le développement des services de covoiturage courte-distance et permettra au véhicule automobile d’être pleinement intégré dans une offre globale de mobilité.

Partenaires associés

Logos partenaires projet OPTICITIES