AUTOPILOT project: Stakeholders come together to reflect on economic models associated with services tested at the Versailles pilot site

10 mai 2019

As part of the AUTOPILOT project, a seminary entitled ‘The Internet of Things and Delegated Driving Technology’ was held on Thursday, 18th April at the Communauté d’Agglomération de Versailles Grand Parc. It brought together stakeholders in experiments conducted on the French pilot site in Versailles. The objective was to consider the opportunity to roll out the services being tested as well as construction of associated economic models.

Assessing the value added by the Internet of Things (IoT) to delegated driving

The AUTOPILOT project is a European Commission Horizon 2020 programme project. Launched in 2017, the project aims to assess the added value of technologies stemming from the Internet of Things (IoT) for driving assistance. Real-life experiments are being conducted at 6 pilot sites in Europe and Asia, including in the city of Versailles. VEDECOM Institute is ensuring the overall coordination of pilot sites and their autonomous vehicle experiments. It is also overseeing the implementation of use cases rolled out in Versailles. In that framework, VEDECOM has developed 3 electric, connected, and autonomous VFLEX vehicles (based on the Renault Twizy).

Two use cases examined at the Versailles site: urban driving combined with a car sharing and platooning service

Two use cases are being tested at the Versailles site. There is a ‘user mode’ for tourists who want to discover points of interest in the city of Versailles using connected and autonomous driving technology. It identifies vulnerable road users (such as pedestrians and cyclists) with connected objects that inform the vehicle of their presence. That helps the vehicle adjust its speed accordingly. These experiments were conducted in late April 2019. As for the other option, the ‘operator mode’, it employs platooning technology to send convoys of cars between two car sharing stations installed in the area as part of the project. This mode is used for automatic rebalancing of the number of cars at the stations. The experiments will take place in early July 2019.

The user mode: making driving safer through redundant information from vehicle sensors and the IoT

The experiment scenario for the user mode involves tourists who want to visit the city of Versailles. After reserving a connected, autonomous car sharing vehicle, the user starts a route through the city using manual and connected driving. Along their route, they receive tourist notifications via a connected tablet inside the vehicle and 14 BLE tags installed around the city by tourist points of interest (PoI).

Once the tourist arrives at the Pièce d’Eau des Suisses, they are invited to switch to the delegated driving mode. Along their way, they will encounter vulnerable road users with connected objects (such as smartphones, smartwatches, and connected bicycles). The objective of this experiment is to show the value provided by these objects in driving delegation technologies. Namely, the redundancy of information provided by connected objects and vehicle sensors will help make driving even safer. The demonstration is quite convincing. One example is when a vehicle going full speed is suddenly confronted with a cyclist without a connected object who is blocking their route. This activates emergency breaking and the vehicle comes to a sudden stop. Now imagine the same scenario when the bike has a connected object. This time, the vehicle starts to slow down long before it reaches the intersection where it will encounter the bike. The information sent by the bicycle have helped the car anticipate the presence, speed, and intentions of the cyclist and adapt its driving accordingly.

The operator mode: automatically rebalancing the number of cars at a station through platooning

The second use case involves the operator mode. This mode aims to facilitate the rebalancing of cars being shared. The experiments examine platooning or creating convoys of vehicles. A Fleet Management System identifies when and how to rebalance the number of cars at two car sharing stations in the city equipped with charging stations. This information is relayed on the operator’s tablet. The operator can then create a little convoy of autonomous vehicles that can automatically follow the trajectory of a lead vehicle that the operator drives manually. Data is exchanged from one car to another, but also between the vehicles and the infrastructure. Roadside units help the lead vehicle communicate with traffic lights to allow the entire convoy to cross intersections safely without being broken part (a feature called Traffic Light Assist).

A workshop to assess the opportunity for rolling out services and associated economic models

As part of phases 4 and 5 of the AUTOPILOT project, the VEDECOM Institute, the Communauté d’Agglomération Versailles Grand Parc, and their partners invited all stakeholders to a seminar on Thursday, 18th April. The seminar was entitled ‘The Internet of Things and Delegated Driving Technology’. The aim of the workshop was to assess the opportunities and obstacles to rolling out services used in the experiments and to reflect on a lasting business model to accompany these services. The day alternated between project and partner presentations, demonstrations, and interactive discussion times to allow participants to gain a clear understanding of the services in question and to reflect on the best economic models to go with them.

https://autopilot-project.eu/

 

Articles récents :

VEDECOM celebrates 5 years !

The 2019 edition of VEDECOM to the Future, the Institute’s internal Corporate day, took place on Thursday 21 February at mobiLAB. Recently installed in these brand new premises, VEDECOM used the occasion to celebrate its 5-year anniversary with all its...

read more

Projet AUTOPILOT : les parties prenantes se réunissent pour envisager les modèles économiques associés aux services expérimentés sur le site pilote versaillais

6 mai 2019

Dans le cadre du projet AUTOPILOT, un séminaire « Internet des objets et délégation de conduite » a eu lieu jeudi 18 avril dans les locaux de la Communauté d’Agglomération de Versailles Grand Parc. Il réunissait des parties prenantes des expérimentations menées sur le site pilote français à Versailles, dans le but de réfléchir à l’opportunité de déployer les services expérimentés ainsi que sur la construction de modèles économiques associés.

Evaluer la valeur ajoutée de l’Internet des Objets (IoT) pour la délégation de conduite

Le projet AUTOPILOT est un projet du programme Horizon 2020 de la Commission Européenne. Lancé en 2017, il a pour objectif d’évaluer la valeur ajoutée des technologies issues de l’internet des objets (IoT) pour la délégation de conduite. Des expérimentations en condition réelles sont menées sur 6 sites pilotes en Europe et en Asie, dont la ville de Versailles. L’Institut VEDECOM assure la coordination globale des sites pilotes et de leurs expérimentations de véhicule autonome, ainsi que la mise en œuvre des cas d’usages déployés à Versailles. Dans ce cadre, VEDECOM a développé 3 VFLEX électriques, connectés et autonomes (base Renault Twizy).

Deux cas d’usages expérimentés sur le site versaillais : conduite urbaine couplée à un service d’autopartage et platooning

Deux cas d’usage sont expérimentés sur le site versaillais. Un ‘parcours utilisateur’ est destiné aux touristes souhaitant découvrir les points d’intérêt de la ville de Versailles en conduite connectée et autonome. Il rencontre des usagers vulnérables de la route (piétons et cyclistes) équipés d’objets connectés qui informent le véhicule de leur présence. Cela lui permet d’adapter sa vitesse en conséquence. Les expérimentations ont été menées fin avril 2019. Le ‘parcours opérateur’ quant à lui met en œuvre un service de platooning (convoi) qui permet le rééquilibrage automatique de la flotte de véhicules entre les deux stations d’autopartage installées sur le territoire dans le cadre du projet. Les expérimentations auront lieu début juillet 2019.

Le parcours utilisateur : sécuriser la conduite par la redondance d’informations des capteurs du véhicules et des IoT

Arrivé à la Pièce d’Eau des Suisses, l’utilisateur est invité à passer en conduite déléguée. Sur son passage, il rencontre des usagers vulnérables de la route équipés d’objets connectés (smartphones, smartwatch, vélo connecté). L’objet de l’expérimentation est alors de faire la preuve de la valeur ajoutée de ces objets pour la conduite déléguée : la redondance des informations enregistrées par les capteurs du véhicule et les objets connectés va permettre de sécuriser davantage la conduite. La démonstration est convaincante : le véhicule se trouve soudainement confronté à l’irruption d’un cycliste non équipé d’IoT qui lui barre la route à pleine vitesse. Le freinage d’urgence est activé, le véhicule pile. Même scénario mais cette fois-ci avec un vélo connecté à l’IoT : le véhicule commence à ralentir bien avant l’intersection incriminée. Les informations envoyées par le vélo ont permis au véhicule d’anticiper la présence, la vitesse et l’intention du cycliste, et d’adapter sa conduite en conséquence.

Le parcours opérateur : rééquilibrer automatiquement la flotte automobile grâce au platooning

Le deuxième cas d’usage consiste en un parcours opérateur, visant à faciliter le rééquilibrage de la flotte de véhicules en autopartage. Les expérimentations concernent alors le platooning ou convoi. Un service de Fleet Management System identifie sur la tablette de l’opérateur quand et de combien il va falloir rééquilibrer la flotte automobile entre les deux stations d’autopartage équipées de bornes de recharge installées dans la ville. L’agent peut alors réaliser un petit convoi de véhicules autonomes, capables de suivre automatiquement la trajectoire d’un véhicule de tête, qu’il conduit manuellement. L’échange de données se fait entre les véhicules, mais aussi entre les véhicules et l’infrastructures. Des unités de bord de route permettent ainsi au véhicule de tête de communiquer avec les feux afin de permettre la traversée des intersections en toute sécurité et sans coupure du convoi (Traffic Light Assist).

Un workshop pour évaluer l’opportunité de déploiement des services et les modèles économiques associés

Dans le cadre des phases 4 et 5 du projet AUTOPILOT, l’Institut VEDECOM, la Communauté d’Agglomération Versailles Grand Parc et leurs partenaires ont invité ce jeudi 18 avril l’ensemble des parties prenantes à un séminaire : « Internet des objets et délégation de conduite ». Le workshop avait pour but d’évaluer les opportunités et les freins au déploiement des services mis en œuvre dans les expérimentations et de réfléchir à un business model pérenne qui pourrait les porter. La journée a alterné présentations du projet et des partenaires, démonstrations et temps de discussion interactifs afin de permettre aux participants de cerner au mieux les services proposés et d’envisager les meilleurs modèles économiques associés.

https://autopilot-project.eu/

 

Articles récents :

VEDECOM fête ses 5 ans !

L’édition 2019 de VEDECOM au Futur, la journée Corporate interne de l’Institut, s’est déroulée le jeudi 21 février au mobiLAB. Nouvellement installé dans ces locaux flambant neufs, VEDECOM a profité de l’occasion pour fêter ses 5 ans avec tous ses...

lire plus