SMIV: now in its fourth year and set for longevity

The VEDECOM Institute’s annual scientific conference on Smart Mobility and Intelligent Vehicle (SMIV) took place on 12 November. This year’s main theme was electromobility and collaboration between onboard (in-vehicle) and offboard (infrastructure) with a multidisciplinary approach starting from usage in order to focus on human-centric technology. The event was held at the Espace Saint-Martin in the heart of Paris: a more central and accessible venue for a conference with an international flavour.

SMIV: young and international in its fourth year

Longevity… surely is the term that springs to mind for this fourth SMIV meet. Focussed on particularly relevant issues, this year’s edition sealed the longer-term future of the event.

Located in Paris’s 3rd arrondissement, the conference brought together VEDECOM’s entire ecosystem, from industrial players to academics, based around issues related to the business model of electromobility and collaboration between the vehicle and its environment.

Result: 250 attendees, compared with 180 the previous year. A young, very international audience for a fully English-speaking conference. And diversity in terms of participants also, with many of the Institute’s international partners having accepted to participate alongside VEDECOM’s researchers. We hosted representatives from Switzerland (Dirk Lauinger), Germany (Dr Uta Burghard) and the Netherlands (Rick Wolbertus). VEDECOM was also delighted to welcome as a keynote speaker Professor Ramteen Sioshansi from the Ohio State University, introducing the first session of scientific presentations on economic challenges in electromobility. Renowned French research bodies such as INRIA and CEA were also represented, with Dr Fawzi Nashashibi, Programme Director at RITS (INRIA), introducing the second session and Dr Raphael David (CEA) speaking about the design of onboard systems for the vehicles of tomorrow.

Two sessions to reflect on the scientific and technical challenges of sustainable mobility

The day was divided into two parts, providing an opportunity to present the latest research findings on sustainable mobility, the scientific and technical challenges ahead and the economic and political issues involved.

The first session, entitled “Sustainable and Electric Mobility”, considered the challenges and issues of electromobility.

This covered issues including the charging infrastructure or market acceptance of new solutions to increase the range of electric vehicles.

The second session, “The intelligent vehicle and its collaboration with the infrastructure”, focussed more on communication and connectivity between the autonomous vehicle and its environment: connected infrastructures, man-machine interfaces (MMI), enhanced perception, etc.

“In your view, what is SMIV?” 

At the close of a day rich in both scientific and technical material, Féthi Ben Ouezdou, Scientific Director of the Institute, summed up SMIV in three short phrases: “Scientific excellence, strategic partnership for VEDECOM, sharing of outstanding research topics”. By way of conclusion, let’s simply quote a few of our participants.

SMIV is a very worthwhile conference in terms of scientific contributions, but also for networking, as it provides a forum for meeting with researchers in all fields and key industry players. It’s highly beneficial for the autonomous vehicle domain.” Dr Fawzi Nashashibi

“VEDECOM really does provide a unique opportunity with its SMIV conference. We can discuss not just scientific methods, but also market conditions, and debate on all the outstanding issues yet to be resolved.” Icaro Freitas-Gomes (VEDECOM doctoral student)

“It’s a great opportunity to see how people from different countries are working on electric and autonomous vehicles.” Dr Rick Wolbertus (Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences, TU Delft)

“We are delighted to have had such high attendance with over 250 people participating. Please join us again next year when we’ll be covering R&D topics related to the use of data and AI for the assessment, validation and certification of autonomous vehicles, as well as new mobility solutions within a societal and legal framework. We plan to run two sessions based on performance validation and the impact of new mobility solutions for organising urban spaces”, concludes Féthi Ben Ouezdou.

Articles récents :

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

SMIV : une 4ème édition qui consacre la pérennité de l’événement

05 / 12 / 2019

SMIV – « Smart Mobility and Intelligent Vehicle », la conférence scientifique annuelle de l’Institut VEDECOM a eu lieu le 12 novembre dernier. Une édition très axée électromobilité et collaboration entre embarqué (véhicule) et débarqué (infrastructures) avec une approche multidisciplinaire qui part des usages pour que la technologie reste au service de l’humain. L’événement s’est déroulé à l’Espace Saint-Martin, en plein cœur de Paris : une localisation plus centrale et plus facile d’accès pour une conférence placée sous le signe de l’international.

SMIV : une quatrième édition jeune et internationale

Consécration… C’est le terme qui vient à l’esprit pour qualifier ce 4ème rendez-vous de SMIV. L’édition, qui adressait les problématiques particulièrement pertinentes, a scellé la pérennité de l’événement.

Avec une localisation parisienne au cœur du 3ème arrondissement, elle a su rassembler l’écosystème complet de VEDECOM, industriels comme académiques, autour des questions de modèle économique de l’électromobilité et de collaboration entre le véhicule et son environnement.

Résultat : 250 participants contre 180 l’an passé. Une audience jeune et très internationale pour une édition intégralement anglophone. Une diversité qui se retrouvait du côté des intervenants puisque nombre des partenaires internationaux de l’Institut avaient accepté d’intervenir aux côtés des chercheurs de VEDECOM. Etaient ainsi représentés la Suisse (Dirk Lauinger), l’Allemagne (Dr ; Uta Burghard), ou encore les Pays-Bas (Rick Wolbertus). VEDECOM était également fier d’accueillir le Professeur Ramteen Sioshansi, de l’Université d’Etat de l’Ohio, comme keynote speaker introduisant la première session de présentations scientifiques sur les enjeux économiques de l’électromobilité. Des organismes de recherche français éminents, comme l’INRIA et le CEA, étaient également représentés : le Dr Fawzi Nashashibi, Directeur de Programme au RITS (INRIA) introduisait la seconde session ; cependant que le Dr Raphael David, du CEA, intervenait sur la conception de systèmes embarqués pour les véhicules de demain.

2 sessions pour faire le point sur les défis scientifiques et techniques des mobilités durables

La journée se déroulait en deux temps, afin de présenter les derniers résultats de recherche sur les mobilités durables, les défis scientifiques et techniques restant à relever ou encore les enjeux économiques et politiques impliqués. Une première session, intitulée « Sustainable and Electric Mobility », envisageait les challenges et les enjeux de l’électromobilité. 

Y étaient notamment abordées les problématiques liées à la recharge ou à l’acceptation des nouvelles solutions pour augmenter le rayon d’action d’un véhicule électrique.

Une seconde session, « The intelligent vehicle and its collaboration with the infrastructure», était davantage axée sur les fonctionnalités de communication et de connectivité entre le véhicule autonome et son environnement : infrastructures connectées, interfaces homme-machine (IHM), perception étendue…

« Pour vous, qu’est-ce que SMIV ? »

Au terme d’une journée scientifique aussi dense que technique, Féthi Ben Ouezdou, Directeur Scientifique de l’Institut, résumait SMIV en trois mots : « Excellence scientifique, partenariat stratégique pour VEDECOM, partage des questions de recherche encore ouvertes ». Nous laissons la parole à quelques intervenants en guise de conclusion.

« SMIV est une conférence très intéressante en termes de contributions scientifiques, mais aussi de networking, dans la mesure où nous pouvons y rencontrer des chercheurs de tous domaines et des acteurs de l’industrie. C’est une rencontre très bénéfique pour le véhicule autonome. » Dr. Fawzi Nashashibi

« C’est réellement une opportunité unique qu’offre VEDECOM avec la conférence SMIV. Nous pouvons y discuter méthodes scientifiques, mais aussi état du marché ou encore faire le point sur toutes les problématiques qui restent à résoudre. » Icaro Freitas-Gomes (doctorant VEDECOM)

« C’est une réelle opportunité de voir comment des personnes de différents pays travaillent sur le véhicule électrique et autonome. » Dr. Rick Wolbertus (Université de Sciences Appliquées d’Amsterdam, TU Delft)

« Nous sommes heureux de cette forte participation avec plus de 250 personnes. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous l’année prochaine avec les thématiques de R&D relatives à l’usage des données et de l’IA pour l’évaluation, la validation et la certification du véhicule autonome; ainsi que les nouvelles solutions de mobilité intégrant une approche sociétale et légale. Deux sessions seront envisagées autour de la validation des performances et l’impact des nouvelles solutions de mobilité pour l’organisation de l’espace urbain », a conclu Féthi Ben Ouezdou.

Pour consulter le programme et les abstracts d’interventions

Articles récents :

La conférence finale du projet européen CoExist a eu lieu en vidéo-conférence

La conférence finale du projet européen CoExist a eu lieu les 25 et 26 mars 2020. Initialement prévue à Milton Keynes, l’une des villes partenaires du projet, elle s’est finalement déroulée en visio-conférence, crise du coronavirus Covid-19 oblige. Lancé en 2017 et...

lire plus