The School of Law and Social Sciences at Aix-Marseille University Launches a Degree Programme Decicated to Autonomous Vehicle

With the PACTE[1] bill currently being debated in Parliament and the Vision for Mobility Act[2] planned for early 2019, the introduction of delegated-driving vehicles is shifting into high gear. The School of Law and Social Sciences at Aix-Marseille University, together with the VEDECOM Institute, is launching the first-ever Legal Issues for Self-Driving Vehicles degree programme. Who is criminally liable in the event of an accident? Who insures the risks? Who compensates victims? This one-of-a-kind programme answers a wide range of legal questions raised by the development of self-driving vehicles. The goal of the programme is to train legal experts and anyone else who may be called upon to deal with questions of liability arising from the use of self-driving vehicles. When they have completed the programme, students receive a post-graduate certificate.

Practical, Forward-Looking Content
With a team that includes university professors and VEDECOM experts, the course provides students with the basic technical and legal knowledge they need to deal with cases involving self-driving cars, as well as the delegated-driving vehicles that already exist. Intended for one-year masters students, as either initial or continuing education, the course comprises 79 teaching hours between January and June 2019, i.e. two days per month, primarily at the Insurance Institute of Aix-Marseille (Institut des Assurances d’Aix-Marseille). One day will be spent at the UTAC track in Montlhéry. Students also have the chance to take part in a tutored project where they resolve a self-driving vehicle case. The results of the case will be presented during a seminar open to the public.

Learning That Connects You to the Realities of Self-Driving Vehicles
Understood to mean a delegated-driving vehicle where the driver transfers some or all of their driving responsibilities to a system, self-driving vehicles raise a number of important questions. While there is still a lot of ground to cover before fully automated self-driving vehicles hit the roads, the Legal Issues for Self-Driving Vehicles certificate provides a survey of existing legal doctrine applicable to delegated driving and the experimental conditions required to establish liability in the event of an accident. The goal is to help students develop a range of expertise that will enable them to understand self-driving vehicles, determine civil and criminal liability in the event of an accident, explain European and international public policies, and decipher and negotiate insurance contracts for vehicles equipped with delegated-driving features.

Encouraging Interactivity to Master New Mobility Solutions
At a time when new technological innovations and mobility concepts are being released at a breakneck speed, learning about the challenges and uses of these vehicles is no longer optional. Thanks to its collaborative structure and partnerships, the VEDECOM Institute proposes fun and interactive training courses to learn about the latest sustainable, efficient, and safe mobility options. These training courses give a comprehensive overview of the mobility options in the institute’s three fields of expertise: vehicle electrification, self-driving and connectivity, and shared mobility and energy. Using digital and physical tools, the students experiment with the new mobility solutions. They get the chance to visit research laboratories and test an autonomous vehicle. They also have access to digital platforms to deepen their knowledge with teaching methods that are fun yet educational.

[1] Article 43 provides for the possibility of a broad range of experiments with self-driving vehicles.
[2] This law will make delegated driving possible in non-experimental contexts.

Download the press release

Articles récents :

VEDECOM celebrates 5 years !

The 2019 edition of VEDECOM to the Future, the Institute’s internal Corporate day, took place on Thursday 21 February at mobiLAB. Recently installed in these brand new premises, VEDECOM used the occasion to celebrate its 5-year anniversary with all its...

read more

VEDECOM contribue à la première formation diplômante Aspects juridiques des véhicules autonomes

Avec la loi PACTE[1], actuellement débattue au Parlement, et la Loi d’orientation des mobilités[2], prévue pour début 2019, le déploiement des véhicules à conduite déléguée passe à la vitesse supérieure. La Faculté de droit et de science politique d’Aix-Marseille Université, avec la contribution de l’Institut VEDECOM, lance la première formation diplômante Aspects juridiques des véhicules autonomes. Qui est pénalement responsable en cas d’accident ? Qui assure les risques ? Qui indemnise les victimes ? Cette formation unique en son genre permet de répondre aux nombreuses questions juridiques que pose le développement des véhicules autonomes. L’objectif est de former des juristes et toute personne amenée à traiter des questions de responsabilités liées à l’utilisation des véhicules autonomes. A la clef pour les étudiants, un Certificat d’Etudes Supérieures Universitaires (CESU).

Des enseignements concrets et prospectifs
Grâce à une équipe composée de professeurs universitaires et d’experts VEDECOM, la formation permet d’acquérir un socle de connaissances techniques et juridiques essentielles pour le traitement des dossiers mettant en cause des véhicules autonomes, mais aussi les véhicules à conduite déléguée déjà existants. Destiné à des étudiants de niveau Master 1, en formation initiale ou continue, le cursus comprend 79 heures d’enseignement dispensées entre janvier et juin 2019, soit deux journées par mois, principalement à l’Institut des Assurances d’Aix-Marseille. Une journée de formation sur les pistes de l’UTAC à Montlhéry est également prévue. Les étudiants ont aussi l’opportunité de participer à un projet tutoré de résolution d’un procès du véhicule autonome. La résolution de ce procès sera présentée lors d’un colloque ouvert au public.

Se former pour se connecter aux réalités du véhicule autonome
Entendu comme le véhicule à conduite déléguée au sein duquel le conducteur transfère tout ou partie de la charge de conduite à un système, le véhicule autonome suscite de nombreuses interrogations. Si la route est encore longue avant le déploiement du véhicule du futur complètement autonome, le diplôme universitaire Aspects juridiques des véhicules autonomes a pour ambition de dresser un état de l’art du droit existant applicable à la délégation de conduite, des conditions d’expérimentation requises à l’établissement des responsabilités en cas d’accident. L’enjeu est de former les étudiants pour qu’ils développent un panel de compétences leur permettant par exemple de définir le véhicule autonome et les responsabilités civiles et pénales en cas d’accident, d’exposer les politiques publiques européennes et internationales ou encore de comprendre et négocier le contrat d’assurance automobile du véhicule équipé de fonction de délégation de conduite.

Favoriser l’interactivité pour maîtriser les nouvelles mobilités
Alors que les innovations technologiques et les nouveaux concepts de mobilité ne cessent de se multiplier, se former pour mieux en comprendre les enjeux et les usages devient une nécessité. Fort de sa structure collaborative et de ses partenariats, l’Institut VEDECOM propose des formations pédagogiques, ludiques et interactives pour se former aux nouvelles mobilités durables, efficientes et sûres. Ces formations portent une vision globale des mobilités dans les trois domaines d’expertise de l’institut : l’électrification des véhicules, la délégation de conduite et connectivité, la mobilité et l’énergie partagées. Grâce à des outils numériques et physiques, les apprenants expérimentent les nouvelles mobilités. Ils ont l’occasion de visiter des laboratoires de recherche, de tester le véhicule autonome. Ils ont aussi accès à des plateformes numériques pour approfondir leurs connaissances avec des méthodes ludiques et pédagogiques.

[1] L’article 43 prévoit de rendre possible pratiquement toutes les formes d’expérimentations de véhicules autonomes
[2] Cette loi doit permettre la délégation de conduite hors du cadre des expérimentations

Télécharger le communiqué de presse

Articles récents :

VEDECOM fête ses 5 ans !

L’édition 2019 de VEDECOM au Futur, la journée Corporate interne de l’Institut, s’est déroulée le jeudi 21 février au mobiLAB. Nouvellement installé dans ces locaux flambant neufs, VEDECOM a profité de l’occasion pour fêter ses 5 ans avec tous ses...

lire plus