What is an ITE?

The Institutes for Energy Transition (ITE) are interdisciplinary platforms active in the field of low-carbon energy sources. They bring together industry skills and public research with a view to ‘public/private investment and close co-operation between all stakeholders’, to strengthen the industrial ecosystems formed by competitiveness clusters. Source: French draft finance amendment bill for 2010.

An ITE is a centre of excellence primarily focused on industrial and/or services development through the pooling and reinforcement of public and private research capabilities. It requires an adequate critical mass of resources and skills, preferably located at the same site. It must cover the entire innovation process up to demonstration and industrial prototyping.

An ITE should help develop international exposure of some top-ranking topics while positioning the Institute on new markets.

Finally, it covers energy sectors that have a promising future and a positive impact on the climate, such as energy efficiency in buildings and transport equipment, energy management systems, geothermal energy, renewable marine energy, solar power, energy storage, and smart grids.

SOURCE: Gorvenment website


About us?

Logo ANR
Logo NextMove

VEDECOM was created in February 2014 and is an Institute for Energy Transition (ITE) established as part of the French government’s ‘Investment for the future plan’ (Programme d’Investissements d’Avenir or PIA). The Institute is dedicated to sustainable and innovative mobility, more environmentally-friendly, autonomous and with improved sharing.

It comes under the ‘Autonomous vehicle plan’ and was recently added to ‘Eco-mobility’, one of nine ‘solutions for future industry’ that form part of a government scheme called ‘Nouvelle France Industrielle’, designed to reinvigorate the country’s industry.

With the backing of its founders and of the NextMove competitive cluster since 2010, VEDECOM is a partnership-based foundation belonging to Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines University. Based on an unprecedented collaboration of more than 50 players, it gathers academic establishments, local authorities and private actors involved in mobility evolution: automotive, transport and mobility, logistics, road infrastructure, telecommunications, energy, aeronautics and defence, digital services and simulation, insurance.

Signature of launch of VEDECOM Institute


Logo Cetim
Logo Esigelec
Logo Estaca
Logo PSA
Logo Renault
Logo City On The Move Institue

On 20 January 2016, VEDECOM joined forces with the City on the Move Institute (Institut pour la Ville en Mouvement—IVM), a major player in international research and action in the fields of changing mobility, architecture and urbanism.
The IVM takes a social and organisational approach that complements VEDECOM’s technology innovation programme.

Social sciences and humanities at the Institute for Energy Transition have thus been enhanced to enable a better understanding of lifestyles and the changes under way, and of the urban and architectural aspects.
Click to find out more about the IVM

Logo City On The Move Institue

In 2017, VEDECOM created the commercial subsidiary VEDECOM Tech, reinforcing VEDECOM’s link between its research and the market at large:
• Strengthen the Institute’s physical and intellectual production, transforming it into various commercial services.
• Consildates innovation strategy in a way that is receptive to market demand.

Purpose & Ambition

VEDECOM responds to the challenges posed by the autonomous vehicle and mobility in the future.
The aim of VEDECOM is to develop disruptive technologies and a cross-disciplinary vision of new usages, for sustainable, safe, efficient and affordable mobility.

It seeks to establish itself as a French technology research institute achieving world-class excellence in its fields of research and activity, drawing on its multi-disciplinary expertise and experiments conducted in its institutional partners’ territories.

To truly federate all the stakeholders that back our Institute and to quickly find solutions to tomorrow’s mobility problems, we define ourselves through some shared values: co-operation, innovation and competitiveness.

“In a rapidly changing world of mobility, we need a systemic approach. An institute such as VEDECOM has a real role to play as the meeting point, the catalyst and trusted third party between the actors of different branches”

Eric Lebeau



VEDECOM’s research activities are organised in three fields of research called “Domains”:

For each of the three domains, a scientific strategic roadmap is defined with VEDECOM’s partners within Domain Committees. These committees are managed by founding members experts.

In addition to these three R&D domains,  an interdisciplinary domain has recently been created, with strong European momentum.

The R&D&I activities are complemented by a training activity.

Diagram of domains and programs

Each of the 4 R&D domains has a dedicated team:

Roch El khoury

Head of Electrification Domain

Mohamed Cherif RAHAL
Head of Multidisciplinary Domain & Head of
Autonomous and Connected Vehicles Domain by interim

Stéphanie COEUGNET
Head of New Mobility & Shared Energy Solutions


As a foundation, the VEDECOM Institute is governed by a Board of Directors.

The Institute’s governance is delegated to a Board of 15 members, chaired by Tony Jaux.
It is backed by a strategic and scientific committee, the Comité d’Orientation Scientifique (COSS) and three committees covering VEDECOM’s three fields of research. Four other committees (training, valuation, financial management and human resources) complement the governance structure.

The operational management team is headed by Eric Lebeau, Chief Executive, and focuses on the four research domains and support functions.

Governance & Committee

  • Board of Directors
    • Chairman of the board: Tony Jaux
    • Secretary: Marc Charlet
    • Tresurer: Bruno Restif
    • Representing SMEs : Gérard Yahiaoui
  • Bureau: Tony Jaux
  • Scientific Orientation Committee (COSS): Denis Gingras
  • Fields Committee
    • Electrification: Patrick Bastard
    • Connected and automated vehicle: Vincent Abadie
    • New mobility solutions & shared energies: Dominique Barth
  • Training Committee: Geneviève Metz
  • Financial Management Committee: Françoise Méchin
  • Valuation Commitee: Sylvain Allano
  • Human Ressources: Henri Legourd