The inauguration of Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab at Spring: a full-scale test of autonomous mobility services connected to infrastructure

15 mai 2019

The Spring event, held on 15 May 2019, was VEDECOM’s chance to come together with its partners to present the Paris-Saclay Lab experiment that is the result of the EVAPS project. The project aims to develop new autonomous mobility services on dedicated, public, and campus routes as a supplement to existing transport solutions at the Plateau de Saclay. It incorporates the latest technologies in on-board smart systems in vehicles, supervision systems, connected infrastructure, and secure telecommunications networks. It was co-led by the Renault Group, the Transdev Group, the VEDECOM Institute, the SystemX Institute for technological research, and Université Paris-Saclay, with support from ENSTA. It also receives support from the French government’s Investments for the Future allocated to ADEME, as well as the Paris-Saclay urban planning and development authority, the Paris-Saclay urban authority, the department of Essonne, and Ile-de-France Mobilités.

 

Testing a comprehensive autonomous transport system

The Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab project was among the selections made by the government on 24 April 2019 following the “Autonomous Road Vehicle Testing” (EVRA) call for projects launched in June 2018 as part of the Investments for the Future programme (PIA). Its purpose is to test a comprehensive autonomous transport system made up of self-driving vehicles (three Renault ZoéCab prototypes and one Transdev-Lohr i-Cristal shuttle), a fleet supervision system, connected infrastructure, and customer applications. The aim is to define the roll-out conditions for an autonomous mobility service at a larger scale. Launched in 2017, the Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab project was inaugurated on 15 May 2019 at the Spring innovation conference at Centrale Supélec by Mr Grégoire de Lasteyrie, Regional Special Advisor for New Mobilities and Mayor of Palaiseau; Mr François Durovray, Chairman of the Essonne Department Council; and Mr Michel Bournat, Mayor of Gif-sur-Yvette and Chairman of the Paris-Saclay urban authority. Mr Philippe Watteau, CEO of VEDECOM; Mr Thierry Mallet, CEO of the Transdev Group; Mr Arnaud Molinié, SVP of Mobility Service at the Renault Group; Mr Paul Labrogère, General Manager of SystemX; Ms Sylvie Retailleau, President of Université Paris-Saclay; and Ms Elizabeth Crépon, Director of ENSTA, were in attendance. It will continue until the first quarter of 2020.

 

Autonomous mobility services to supplement existing transport offerings

The experiment will be launched gradually, first opening 21 May 2019 to a sample group of users. They will be offered two autonomous mobility services as a supplement to existing transport offerings at Plateau de Saclay:

  • a night-time mass transit service on a separate road (a special TCSP bus road) with a Transdev-Lohr i-Cristal self-driving shuttle that will make stops in Plateau de Saclay neighbourhoods and the Massy train station after regular service hours have ended. From 12:30am to 3:00am, the shuttle will make four stops along a nearly three-kilometre route.
  • There will also be an on-demand car service during the day to supplement regular transport services, provided by self-driving Renault ZoéCab prototypes on the Paris-Saclay campus.

The project is exceptional in that it covers the Paris-Saclay zone, which is fertile ground for innovation, and that it involves collaboration between actors from complementary fields who all share a common drive: the desire to develop shared autonomous mobility solutions. It aligns with authorities’ efforts to develop new mobility systems at Plateau de Saclay by integrating them into public transit offerings. The aim is to demonstrate the utility of autonomous mobility solutions in an existing transport network, as defined by various performance measures, complementarity with existing offerings, and economic measures. Indeed, mobility is a major challenge in this area when it comes to attracting international interest, which is Paris-Saclay’s goal. In addition, the population is growing quickly, which ought to increase demand.

 

Large-scale experiment

For this large-scale experiment, nine kilometres of fibre optic cable were laid down in the experimental zone, as well as four kilometres of electric cable and six kilometres of Ethernet cable. Nearly 200 public street lamps were used, plus 70 temporary poles. Along eight kilometres of road, 25 sites (multi-mode transfer points, traffic light intersections, roundabouts, bus stops, etc.) were outfitted with communication and collection infrastructure. Eighty-five sensors were installed (10 M8 LiDARs, 20 vehicle-detector heat cameras, 20 pedestrian-detector heat cameras, 35 video cameras) as well as 25 roadside units paired with 25 roadside cases holding processing units and network equipment. This RSU + case set designed by VEDECOM, called the VEDECOM Box, processes and communicates upwards and downwards information from the vehicle.

The Renault ZOECab and the Transdev-Lohr i-Cristal shuttle are 100% electric and equipped with autonomous technology. Outfitted with LiDAR sensors, cameras, an inertial centre and self-driving software, they account for all the usual driving constraints: they identify the presence of other vehicles and pedestrians; manage intersections, roundabouts and speed bumps; recognise traffic lights, etc. They are level four (SAE standard: fully autonomous in specific zones). Inside, the vehicles have cameras and information screens to assist passengers during the ride.

This programme represents a total investment of 16.2 million euros, including 5.5 million euros contributed by ADEME as part of the Investments for the Future programme.

 

A major cross-cutting project for VEDECOM

Communicating and smart infrastructure has been designed, installed and developed by VEDECOM, which has also led the entire human factors analysis of the project (relationship between pedestrians and travellers and self-driving cars).

Three teams from the Institute have been called upon for this project, which has already taken 2,500 hours of work over the course of two years:

  • The “New Physical Urban Spaces for Eco-mobility” team, led by Nadège Faul,
  • The “New Usages Laboratory” team, led by Stéphanie Coeugnet,
  • The “New Secure Communications and Cooperative Safety” team, led by Oyunchmimeg Shagdar.

The project makes it possible to assess two main domains: the technological domain, with the set-up of an autonomous and connected transport system; and the acceptability domain, with the sample group to analyse ‘end customers’ level of buy-in to services. The VEDECOM Institute has provided expertise in both domains by offering solutions for true added-value services:

  • research, development, and deployment of smart, connected infrastructure that complements self-driving vehicles; connectivity modules (and more specifically connectivity between roadside equipment and on-board communication modules);
  • development of standardised interfaces with an eye to interoperable supervision;
  • research and development of communication between vehicles and vulnerable road users to ensure detection and safety; collection and analysis of users’ needs and expectations as well as their feedback on the acceptability of proposed services to get an idea of how popular and profitable they will be in the future;
  • research, specifications, and prototyping of the user-friendliness of user interfaces inside and outside the test vehicles (ZOECab and i-Cristal shuttle).

Read the Press Release of the 5 partners of the Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab project

Articles récents :

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

Le Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab inauguré à l’occasion de Spring : une expérimentation grandeur nature de services de mobilité autonome connectés aux infrastructures

15 mai 2019

L’évènement SPRING, qui a eu lieu à Paris-Saclay le 15 mai 2019, a été l’occasion pour VEDECOM de présenter, aux côtés de ses partenaires, l’expérimentation Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab issue du projet EVAPS. Le projet, vise à développer de nouveaux services de mobilité en conduite autonome, donc sans conducteur, sur voie dédiée, voies publiques et campus, en complément des solutions de transports existantes sur le plateau de Saclay. Il intègre des technologies de pointe en matière d’intelligence embarquée dans les véhicules, de système de supervision, d’infrastructures connectées, ainsi que de réseaux de télécommunications sécurisés. Il a été copiloté par le Groupe Renault, le Groupe Transdev, l’Institut VEDECOM, l’IRT SystemX, et l’Université Paris-Saclay avec la contribution de l’ENSTA. Il bénéficie du concours des Investissements d’Avenir de l’Etat confiés à l’ADEME, ainsi que du soutien de l’Établissement Public d’Aménagement Paris-Saclay, de la communauté d’agglomération Paris-Saclay, du département de l’Essonne et d’Ile-de-France Mobilités.

 

Expérimentation d’un système complet de transport autonome

Le projet Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab fait partie des expérimentations retenues le 24 avril 2019 par le gouvernement après l’appel à projets « Expérimentation du Véhicule Routier Autonome » (EVRA) lancé en juin 2018 dans le cadre du Programme d’Investissements d’Avenir (PIA). Il a pour objectif de tester un système complet de transport autonome, composé de véhicules autonomes (3 prototypes de Renault ZoéCab et 1 navette Transdev-Lohr i-Cristal), d’une supervision de la flotte, d’une infrastructure connectée et d’applications clients. Le but est de définir les conditions de déploiement d’un service de mobilité autonome à plus large échelle. Lancé en 2017, le projet Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab a été inauguré le 15 mai 2019, à l’occasion du rendez-vous de l’innovation SPRING à Centrale Supélec, par M.Grégoire de Lasteyrie, Conseiller spécial nouvelles mobilités de la Région et Maire de Palaiseau, M. François Durovray, Président du Conseil Départemental de l’Essonne et M. Michel BOURNAT, Maire de Gif-sur-Yvette et Président de la Communauté d’agglomération Paris-Saclay ; en présence de M. Philippe Watteau, Directeur Général de VEDECOM, M. Thierry Mallet, Président Directeur Général du Groupe Transdev, M. Arnaud Molinié, SVP Mobility service du Groupe Renault, M. Paul Labrogère, Directeur Général de l’IRT SystemX,  Mme Sylvie Retailleau, Présidente de l’Université Paris-Saclay, et Mme Elisabeth Crépon, Directrice de l’ENSTA. Il se poursuivra jusqu’au premier trimestre 2020.

 

Des services de mobilité autonome en complément de l’offre de transports existante

L’expérimentation sera ouverte progressivement à partir du 21 mai 2019 à un panel d’utilisateurs. Leur seront proposés deux services de mobilité autonome en complément de l’offre de transports actuellement existante sur le plateau de Saclay :

  • un service de transport collectif de nuit sur voie dédiée (voie TCSP dédiée aux bus) avec une navette autonome Transdev-Lohr i-Cristal qui desservira les quartiers du plateau de Saclay jusqu’à la gare de Massy, en dehors de heures d’exploitation des services réguliers. De 00h30 à 3h du matin, la navette desservira 4 arrêts, sur une distance de près de 3 kilomètres ;
  • un service de voitures à la demande, en journée, en complément des services réguliers de transports, assuré par des prototypes de Renault ZoéCab, autonomes sur le Campus de Paris-Saclay.

Le projet est exemplaire par son intégration sur le territoire de Paris-Saclay, terreau propice à l’innovation, ainsi que par la collaboration des acteurs du projet, aux métiers complémentaires et partageant le même engagement : développer la mobilité autonome partagée. Il s’inscrit dans la démarche des pouvoirs publics pour développer les nouvelles mobilités sur le Plateau de Saclay, en les intégrant à l’offre de transport collectif. Il entend démontrer la pertinence de solutions de mobilité autonome au sein d’un réseau de transport existant, et ce sous les différents angles de la performance, la complémentarité avec l’offre en place et le volet économique. L’offre de mobilité est en effet un enjeu majeur de ce territoire, dans le cadre de l’ambition d’attractivité internationale qui est la sienne. La démographie, en forte expansion, devrait contribuer également à accroître la demande.

 

Une expérimentation d’envergure

Pour cette expérimentation de grande ampleur, 9 km de fibre optique ont été tirés sur l’ensemble du territoire d’expérimentation ainsi que 4 km de câble électrique et 6 km de câble Ethernet. Près de 200 candélabres publics ont été utilisés, complétés par 70 mâts provisoires. Sur les 8 km de route, 25 sites (pôle d’échanges multi-modal, intersections avec feux, ronds-points, arrêts de bus…) ont été équipés d’infrastructures de communication et de perception. 85 capteurs ont été déployés (10 lidars M8, 20 caméras thermiques de détection véhicules, 20 caméras thermiques de détection piétons, 35 caméras vidéo) ainsi que 25 unités de bord de route, associées à 25 coffrets de bord de route comportant les unités de traitement et les équipements réseau. Cet ensemble UBR + coffret, conçu par VEDECOM et baptisé VEDECOM Box, permet le traitement et la communication des flux d’informations montants et descendants depuis le véhicule.

Les prototypes Renault ZOECab et la navette Transdev-Lohr i-Cristal sont 100% électriques et dotées de technologies autonomes. Equipés de capteurs type Lidar, de caméras, d’une centrale inertielle et d’un logiciel de conduite autonome, ils intègrent toutes les contraintes de trafic habituelles : identification de présence d’autres véhicules ou de piétons, gestion des carrefours, des ronds-points ou des ralentisseurs, reconnaissance des feux de circulation, etc. Ils sont de niveau 4 (norme SAE – complètement autonomes dans des zones spécifiques). A l’intérieur, les véhicules sont dotés de caméras ainsi que d’écrans informatifs destinés à accompagner les passagers durant leur trajet.

Ce programme représente un investissement total de 16,2 millions d’euros, dont 5,5 millions d’euros d’aides apportées par l’ADEME au titre des Investissements d’Avenir.

 

Un projet transverse majeur pour VEDECOM

L’infrastructure, communicante et intelligente, a été conçue, implantée et développée par VEDECOM, qui a également piloté toute l’étude facteurs humains du projet (relations piéton et voyageur avec le véhicule autonome).

Trois équipes de l’Institut sont mobilisées pour ce projet, qui comptabilise déjà plus de 2500 heures de travail en deux ans :

  • L’équipe « Nouveaux espaces physiques de la ville pour l’écomobilité », menée par Nadège Faul,
  • L’équipe « Laboratoire des nouveaux usages », menée par Stéphanie Coeugnet,
  • L’équipe « Nouvelles communications sécurisées et sécurité coopérative », menée par Oyunchimeg Shagdar.

Le projet permet d’évaluer deux volets principaux : le volet technologique, avec la mise en place d’un système de transport autonome et connecté ; et le volet acceptabilité, avec l’accueil de panélistes pour étudier l’appropriation des services par les clients finaux. L’Institut VEDECOM a apporté son expertise dans les deux domaines, en proposant des solutions pour de vrais services à valeur ajoutée :

  • recherche, développement et déploiement d’une infrastructure intelligente et connectée qui complète le véhicule autonome, ainsi que de modules de connectivité (et plus particulièrement connectivité entre les équipements de bord de route et les modules de communication embarqués) ;
  • recherche et développement sur la communication entre les véhicules et les usagers vulnérables de la route afin d’en assurer la détection et la sécurité ; recueil et analyse des besoins et attentes des utilisateurs ainsi que de leurs retours sur l’acceptabilité des services proposés afin d’envisager leur attractivité et leur rentabilité future ;
  • recherche, spécifications et prototypage de l’ergonomie des interfaces usagers à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des divers types de véhicules en expérimentation.

 

Le communiqué de presse des 5 partenaires du projet Paris-Saclay Autonomous Lab

Articles récents :

VEDECOM au salon Autonomy : des solutions pour accompagner le déploiement des nouvelles mobilités

Pari réussi pour les trois offres de VEDECOM présentées sur le stand de l’Institut au Salon Autonomy & the Urban Mobility Summit ! L’événement, qui se tenait du 16 au 17 octobre dernier à la Grande Halle de La Villette à Paris, a permis de confirmer la pertinence des offres de l’Institut au sein de l’écosystème de la mobilité. Que ce soit pour Mobilitips, Entropy ou M’OBS by VEDECOM Tech, le bilan est positif et les retours très encourageants. Retour sur cette journée riche en rencontres !

lire plus