Logo VEDECOM

VEH03

ELECTRIC ENGINE AND POWER ELECTRONICS RELIABILITY

Picto Vehicule electrification

Challenges

Reducing production costs with extremely precise control over the lifespan of the most innovative subgroups in electric and hybrid vehicles. Warranties are becoming longer and longer, with some car makers offering up to eight years’ warranty from the time a model goes to market—a requirement from the international automotive sector.

Power components implement technologies in a context of continuous innovation to cut costs, reduce maintenance and retain control over failure modes, which impact vehicle performance and safety (self-driving vehicles).

Precise knowledge of the failure indicator and modes of these new technologies is of structural importance when the choice of topology is made, to enable the design of a high-performance vehicle with its production costs kept under control.

French industry does not produce power semi-conductors for traction equipment: the market leaders are currently German and Japanese. However, French industry can put forward innovative integration concepts; an experimental assessment of the lifespan under real conditions of use is a crucial step prior to industrialisation.

Research themes

  • Assessing and predicting the lifespan of new power electronics integration technologies (semi-conductor type and assembly technology) in conditions of actual vehicle use (vehicle integration, environment, mission profile, etc.)
  • Comparing technologies on the basis of benchmark tests (PCT, TC),
  • Putting forward new protocols and test benches (e.g. combined PCT-TCT tests), training in the required skills at European level
  • Identifying and understanding the failure mechanisms to enable new, safe and enduring system design
  • Putting forward new failure diagnosis and prediction tools for use in real-life conditions.

Project description

The approach usually taken when assessing automotive reliability applies the Automotive Electronics Council quality standards (AEC Q100, Q200). They define the test conditions to be applied to electronic components and printed circuit boards. This method is based on a statistical compliance criteria and requires test results from a large quantity of components. The approach selected by all the high-power, high-integration component specialists is experimental and involves identification of the parameters that indicate ageing and failure. Yet when new technology is developed in the current context of ongoing, competitive innovation, it is important to know under which conditions the faults appear and to conduct tests until failures occur in order to control the lifespan of the system.

The ‘Power Electronics Reliability’ project runs tests on technological demonstrators based on mature manufacturing processes, to which constraint cycles are applied to generate thermo-mechanical fatigue due to the stacking of the various materials that make up the power module (e.g. semi-conductors, conductors, insulators), thus corresponding to real conditions of use (environmental or vehicle driving):

  • Thermal cycles generated via the thermal interface, the power module is passive: Thermal Cycling Tests (TCT),
  • Thermal cycles generated by the semi-conductors, the power module is active: Power Cycling Tests (PCT),
  • Combined cycles, which are highly representative of the specific mission profiles of the vehicles; these profiles may be configured according to the kind of use, type of vehicle and a specific climatic environment.

The levels and number of constraint cycles are representative of the conditions of use considered, the test conditions are accelerated by the amplitude of constraints in the planned range of use, and by the frequency of cycles maintained 24 hours a day. The duration of a TCT, PCT or combined type test is expected to be several months.

 All the data acquired are used i) for a comparison of the performance of the various technologies under comparable test conditions, and ii) for an in-depth analysis to establish a behaviour law for a more or less restricted range of use, based on simulations using models reaching 3D complexity, in liaison with VEDECOM’s academic partners. This modelling work can be used to extrapolate and even predict behaviour over the lifespan in configurable conditions of use. The work can also be used to validate original assembly technologies for innovative design integration adapted to automotive mass production.

Future prospects

  • Establishing an experimental platform recognised at least at European level for tests and failure analysis, paired with a digital calculation platform to optimise the lifespan of system design and integration technologies, benefiting from the skills and services of the VEDECOM network of partners.
  • Establishing a database of experiment results on the lifespan and failure mode of the various power integration technologies for tractions and rapid vehicle charging, representing real conditions of use.
  • Taking into account the behaviour of passive components in high-integration mechatronic systems.
  • Putting forward a predictive maintenance solution based on the evolution of the failure indicator parameters.

Partners involved

Partners involved ELECTRIC ENGINE AND POWER ELECTRONICS RELIABILITY

Logo VEDECOM

VEH03

Fiabilité moteurs électriques & électronique de puissance

Picto électrification des véhicules

Enjeux

Réduire le coût de production avec une maîtrise la plus précise possible de la durée de vie des sous-ensembles les plus innovants des véhicules électriques et hybrides. Il faut satisfaire des garanties de plus en plus longues, certains constructeurs garantissent jusqu’à 8 ans, ceci dès la première sortie commerciale, exigence du marché automobile international.

Les composants de puissance mettent en œuvre des technologies dans un contexte d’innovation continue pour réduire les coûts, réduire la maintenance et maîtriser les modes de défaillance, lesquels impactent les performances et la sécurité du véhicule (véhicule autonome).

Les connaissances précises des indicateurs et modes de défaillance de ces nouvelles technologies sont structurantes dès le choix de la topologie, pour une conception qui fait qu’un véhicule est performant à un coût de production maîtrisé.

L’industrie française ne produit pas de semi conducteurs de puissance pour le niveau traction, à ce jour les leaders sont Allemands et Japonais, mais l’industrie française peut proposer des concepts d’intégration innovants, l’évaluation expérimentale de la durée de vie sous contraintes d’usage sera une étape incontournable avant industrialisation.

Thèmes de recherche

  • Évaluer et prédire la durée de vie des nouvelles technologies d’intégration de l’électronique de puissance (type de semi conducteurs et technologie d’assemblage) dans les conditions d’usage automobile (intégration véhicule, environnement, profil de mission…),
  • Comparer les technologies sur la base d’essais de référence (PCT, TC),
  • Proposer de nouveaux protocoles et bancs d’essais (exemple d’essais combinés PCT-TCT), former les compétences au meilleur niveau européen,
  • Identifier et comprendre les mécanismes de défaillance pour de nouvelle conception système durable et sûre,
  • Proposer de nouveaux outils de diagnostics et de prévision des défaillances dans les conditions d’usage.

Description du projet

L’approche usuelle de l’évaluation de la fiabilité automobile utilise les normes qualité Automotive Electronics Council (AEC Q100, Q200) qui définissent les conditions d’essai à appliquer pour les composants électroniques et pour les circuits imprimés. Cette méthode est basée sur un critère statistique de conformité, elle nécessite des résultats d’essais sur une grande quantité de composants. L’approche choisie dans par tous les spécialistes des composants de forte puissance à fort niveau d’intégration est expérimentale et consiste dans l’identification des paramètres indicateurs de vieillissement et de défaillance. Or dans le cadre du développement d’une nouvelle technologie, contexte actuel d’une innovation continue et compétitive, il est important pour maîtriser la durée de vie du système de connaître dans quelles conditions les défauts apparaissent et de mener des essais jusqu’à l’obtention de défaillances.

Le projet “Fiabilité Electronique de Puissance“ réalise des essais sur des démonstrateurs technologiques issus de processus de fabrication mature, sur lesquels on applique des cycles de contraintes générant une fatigue thermo-mécaniques liées à l’empilage des différents matériaux internes constituant le ce module de puissance (semiconducteurs, conducteurs, isolants), correspondant aux conditions d’usage, soient environnementale et conduite du véhicule:

  • Des cycles thermiques générés via l’interface thermique, le module de puissance est passif, “Thermal Cycling Tests“ (TCT),
  • Des cycles thermiques générés par les semi conducteurs, le module de puissance est actif, “Power Cycling Tests“ (PCT),
  • Des cycles combinés très représentatifs des profils de missions spécifiques des véhicules, lesquels pourront être paramétrés selon le mode d’usage, le type de véhicule, un environnement climatique particulier.

Les niveaux et le nombre de cycles de ces contraintes sont représentatifs des conditions d’usage envisagées, les conditions d’essais sont accélérées par l’amplitude des contraintes dans la plage d’usage prévue, et par la fréquence des cycles maintenus 24h/24h. La durée d’un essai type, TCT, PCT ou combiné est estimée à quelques mois.

 L’ensemble des données acquises permettent d’abord un premier niveau de comparaison des performances des différentes technologies à conditions d’essais comparables, puis à un niveau d’analyse approfondi elles permettent d’établir une loi de comportement dans une plage d’usage plus ou moins restreinte à l’aide de simulation utilisant des modèles jusqu’à une complexité 3D avec les partenaires académiques de VEDECOM. Ces travaux de modélisation peuvent permettre d’extrapoler et voir prédire le comportement en durée de vie dans des conditions d’usage paramétrables, ces travaux permettent aussi de valider des technologies d’assemblages originales pour une intégration de conception innovante et adaptée à la production de masse de l’industrie automobile.

Perspectives

  • Disposer d’une plateforme expérimentale reconnue au moins au niveau européen pour les essais et analyses de défaillance, couplée à une plateforme de calcul numérique pour l’optimisation de la durée de vie des technologies d’intégration et de conception système, bénéficiant des compétences et apportant des services au réseau des partenaires VEDECOM,
  • Établir une base de données de résultats expérimentaux de durée de vie et de mode de défaillances des différentes technologies d’intégration de puissance pour la traction et la recharge rapide automobile représentative conditions d’usages.
  • Prendre en compte les comportements des composants passifs dans les systèmes à forte intégration mécatronique,
  • Proposer une solution de maintenance prédictive basée sur l’évolution des paramètres indicateurs de défaillance.

Partenaires associés

Logos partenaires projet fiabilité moteurs électriques et électronique de puissance