VEDECOM is attending EVS32, the leading international scientific conference on vehicle electrification

May, the 20th

The VEDECOM Institute will be present at the 32nd annual Electric Vehicles Symposium (EVS32) which will be held from 19 to 22 May 2019, in Lyon. The Institute will have a stand presenting their work in the field of vehicle electrification and charging, with four Institute researchers taking part. VEDECOM will also conduct two innovative electric charging demonstrations in partnership with the Renault group.

EVS32: Promoting sustainable electric mobility

EVS32 is the leading international conference on the issues of vehicle electrification, connectivity and autonomy. Each year, it gathers the major innovation leaders in the electric vehicle field, and addresses all elements of electric mobility: markets, battery technology, charging systems, public policy and services, etcetera. The programme will include seminars with the leading specialists on the subject, demonstrations, tests of the latest innovations on the market, meetings and more. The aim is to promote sustainable mobility and to allow participants to enhance their knowledge in the field of electric mobility.

A presentation booth for VEDECOM’s activities in the field of vehicle electrification

The VEDECOM Institute will maintain a booth throughout the symposium (booth F19). The displays will in particular include the new induction coils for dynamic charging tracks. Developed entirely in-house, these new 30 KW coils provide the building blocks of a new electrical charging track by induction, allowing the vehicle to offset its energy expenditure, and thus increase its autonomy. A touchscreen will allow visitors to explore the Institute’s electrical motor production plant in 360°: this unique laboratory, installed in the research teams’ immediate vicinity, enables the rapid prototyping of electric motors and fosters the acceleration of innovation. And lastly, screens will present VEDECOM’s work in the area of vehicle electrification. This is organised around two key objectives: expanding the autonomy of electric vehicles, and reducing the size and cost of their motors.

Four researchers present their findings on electric motors and charging

In addition, four VEDECOM researchers will present their findings on the subjects of charging and electric motors.

Sid Ali Randi, an engineer in the design and production of innovative electric motors, will speak on the topic of “Performance analysis of a hybrid excitation flux-switching motor for a PHEV type application”. He will present its operating function, as well as its benefits. The approach used allows for the mapping of the entirety of this new motor’s performance, currently in the process of prototyping.

Emilia Suomalainen, Project Lead at Energie Partagée, will comment on a poster titled “Study of the investment cost for the development of charging infrastructure on a stretch of motorway”. Whilst one of the main obstacles to the mass deployment of electric vehicles is the under-development of infrastructures, she will exhibit a simplified infrastructure model comparing the deployment costs of two electric vehicle charging solutions on stretches of motorway: rapid recharging stations and dynamic vehicle charging channels.

Stéphane Laporte, FABRIC’s Head of Project, will be making a presentation on “The Versailles-Satory charging infrastructure for the testing of contactless dynamic charging”. He’ll present the pilot scheme implemented in Versailles-Satory to develop and evaluate the performance of contactless dynamic charging prototype systems, as well as the experimental studies that aim to characterise such prototypes in real driving conditions.

Jihen Sakly, an engineer in innovative charging systems, will compare h-bridge and cascaded, multilevel topologies for the contactless charging of electric vehicles. She will in particular present the experimental validation carried out on the charging track by the 3kW contactless induction developed by VEDECOM.

Two electrical charging demonstrations in partnership with Renault

Two electrical charging demonstrations will also be presented at Renault’s booth; Renault is VEDECOM’s partner in the two initiatives. A charging station equipped with two plugs and two screens will enable simulation of charging in a public space, as well as home charging. The first demonstration, called “Plug and Charge”, will present the simplification of the systems of identifying and charging vehicles across public stations. At present, connecting and charging are dependent on the reading of a badge by the bollard: it is this badge that allows the vehicle to be recognised and to deliver the required authorisations for the charge. Ultimately, the vehicle will be automatically recognised by the bollard, for a simplification of the steps involved in charging.

The second demonstration will present a simulation of bi-directional home charging. Currently being tested by Renault in the Netherlands, this technology allows electric vehicles to return the energy stored in their batteries to the electric network, and to better regulate the charge. This is thus performed at a maximum when the supply is most abundant, particularly during renewable energy production peaks. Conversely, in peak periods, the vehicle can feed energy back into the network in order to help smooth out the peaks in consumption, and may therefore serve as a temporary energy storage unit. The vehicles are equipped with embedded bi-directional chargers coupled to a software component developed by the VEDECOM Institute in partnership with Trialog, which provides communication between the vehicle and the bollard.

Articles récents :

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

VEDECOM met le cap sur EVS32, le principal congrès scientifique international sur l’électrification du véhicule

L’Institut VEDECOM sera présent à la 32ème édition de l’ Electric Vehicles Symposium (EVS32) qui aura lieu du 19 au 22 mai 2019, à Lyon. Il y tiendra un stand pour présenter ses activités dans le domaine de l’électrification du véhicule et de la recharge, et quatre de ses chercheurs y interviendront. VEDECOM mènera également deux démonstrations de recharge électrique innovante en partenariat avec le groupe Renault.

EVS32 : promouvoir la mobilité électrique et durable

EVS32 est le principal congrès international sur les questions d’électrification, de connectivité et d’autonomie du véhicule. Il réunit chaque année les acteurs majeurs de l’innovation dans le domaine du véhicule électrique et aborde toutes les composantes de la mobilité électrique : marchés, technologies des batteries, systèmes de charges, services et politiques publiques… Le programme affiche des conférences des meilleurs spécialistes sur le sujet, des démonstrations, des tests des dernières innovations sur le marché, des rencontres…Le but est de promouvoir la mobilité durable et de permettre aux participants de parfaire leurs connaissances dans le domaine de la mobilité électrique.

 

Un stand de présentation des activités de VEDECOM dans le domaine de l’électrification du véhicule

L’Institut VEDECOM tiendra un stand durant tout le symposium (stand F19). Y seront notamment exposées les nouvelles bobines à induction pour les pistes de recharge dynamique. Entièrement conçues en interne, ces nouvelles bobines de 30 KW constituent les briques technologiques d’une nouvelle piste de recharge électrique par induction permettant au véhicule de compenser sa dépense en énergie, et donc d’augmenter son autonomie. Une borne tactile permettra de découvrir l’atelier de fabrication de machines électriques de l’Institut en 360° : ce laboratoire unique, installé à proximité immédiate des équipes de recherche, permet le prototypage rapide de moteurs électriques et favorise l’accélération de l’innovation. Des écrans présenteront enfin les activités de VEDECOM dans le domaine de l’électrification des véhicules. Celles-ci s’organisent autour de deux objectifs majeurs : étendre l’autonomie des véhicules électriques et réduire le coût et le volume de leurs moteurs.

 

4 chercheurs présentent les résultats de la recherche sur la recharge et les moteurs électriques

Quatre chercheurs de VEDECOM présenteront par ailleurs leurs recherches sur des sujets de recharge et de moteur électriques.

Sid Ali Randi, ingénieur en conception et de réalisation de machines électriques innovantes, interviendra sur l’ « Analyse des performances d’une machine à commutation de flux à excitation hybride pour une application type PHEV ». Il en présentera le principe de fonctionnement, ainsi que les avantages. L’approche utilisée permet de cartographier toutes les performances de ce nouveau moteur, actuellement en cours de prototypage.

Emilia Suomalainen, responsable de projet Energie Partagée, commentera un poster intitulé « Etude du coût d’investissement pour le développement de l’infrastructure de recharge sur un tronçon d’autoroute ». Alors que l’un des principaux obstacles au déploiement massif du véhicule électrique est le sous-développement des infrastructures, elle exposera un modèle d’infrastructure simplifié comparant les coûts de déploiement de deux solutions de recharge de véhicule électrique sur des tronçons d’autoroute : des stations de recharge rapide et des voies de recharge dynamique.

Stéphane Laporte, chef de projet FABRIC, fera une intervention sur « l’infrastructure de recharge de Versailles-Satory pour le test de recharge dynamique sans contact ». Il présentera la route expérimentale mise en place à Versailles Satory pour développer et évaluer les performances des prototypes de systèmes de recharge dynamique sans contact ; ainsi que les études expérimentales visant à caractériser ces prototypes dans des conditions de conduite réelle.

Jihen Sakly, ingénieur en systèmes de recharge innovants, comparera les topologies pont en H et multiniveau en cascade pour la recharge sans contact du véhicule électrique. Elle présentera notamment la validation expérimentale réalisée sur la piste de recharge par induction sans contact de 3kW mise au point par VEDECOM.

 

Deux démonstrations de recharge électrique en partenariat avec Renault

Deux démonstrations de recharge seront également présentées sur le stand de Renault, partenaire de VEDECOM dans les deux projets mis en scène. Une borne de recharge dotée de deux prises et deux écrans, permettra de simuler une recharge sur lieu public, et une recharge à domicile. La première démonstration, dite « Plug and Charge », permettra de présenter la simplification des systèmes d’identification et de charge du véhicule sur les bornes publiques. Aujourd’hui, le branchement et la charge sont conditionnées par la lecture d’un badge par la borne : c’est ce badge qui permet la reconnaissance du véhicule et la délivrance des autorisations nécessaires à la charge. A terme, le véhicule sera reconnu automatiquement par la borne, pour une simplification des démarches de recharge.

La seconde démonstration présentera une simulation de recharge à domicile en bidirectionnelle. Actuellement expérimentée par Renault aux Pays-Bas, cette technologie permet aux véhicules électriques de restituer l’énergie emmagasinée dans leurs batteries au réseau électrique et de mieux réguler la recharge. Celle-ci s’effectue ainsi au maximum quand l’offre est la plus abondante, notamment lors des pics de production des énergies renouvelables. A l’inverse, en période de pointe, le véhicule peut réinjecter de l’énergie au réseau pour lisser les pics de consommation et peut dès lors servir d’unité de stockage temporaire d’énergie. Les véhicules sont équipés de chargeurs bidirectionnels embarqués couplés à une brique logicielle mise au point par l’Institut VEDECOM en partenariat avec Trialog qui assure la communication entre le véhicule et la borne.

 

Articles récents :

VEDECOM fête ses 5 ans !

L’édition 2019 de VEDECOM au Futur, la journée Corporate interne de l’Institut, s’est déroulée le jeudi 21 février au mobiLAB. Nouvellement installé dans ces locaux flambant neufs, VEDECOM a profité de l’occasion pour fêter ses 5 ans avec tous ses...

lire plus